Carl McDaniel Award

Award and Recipients
Home / Carl McDaniel Award
MSMR Conference Logo

The Carl McDaniel Award

At each annual conference, a UTA MSMR alumnus or advisory board member is awarded the Carl McDaniel Award for outstanding dedication and generous contributions to the MSMR Alumni Association and to the program as a whole.

The award is given in honor of Carl McDaniel, former professor emeritus and chairman of the marketing department at UTA. Dr. McDaniel’s extraordinary leadership at UTA between 1990 and 2006 fostered the development and growth of the MSMR program, which resulted in a new generation of skilled marketing researchers.

Recipients of the Carl McDaniel Award have shown amazing dedication to the MSMR program and selflessly given their time to advance the program and the future careers of students.

2018 Carl McDaniel Recipient - Erik Montenegro

Erik is a graduate of the UTA MSMR program, and sits on the UTA Advisory Board. He has previously served as Chairman of the MSMR Insights Conference, and is one of the founding members of the MSMR Alumni Association. He is currently a member of the Customer Insights team at Lowe’s, where he supports research programs and initiatives for the Merchandising and Marketing teams.

Erik has an undergrad degree in Psychology as well as an MBA in Marketing and an MS in Marketing Research, all from the University of Texas at Arlington. He has worked on both the vendor and client-side at companies that include Lowe’s, Alcon (a Novartis Division), Decision Analyst, M/A/R/C Research, and Global Research Partners. Erik recently relocated from Irving, Texas to Charlotte, NC.

Erik also grew up in Chicago, and is a huge Cubs fan. He loves food, as he typically chooses his leisurely travel destinations based on where he feels he will have the best meals. The only continents that have eluded him are Africa, Australia, and Antarctica.

Past Award Recipients (hover over image for year)

2017 Recipient

Bob Rogers
Former Director of the MSMR Program/Clinical Professor

2016 Recipient

Jamie Baker-Prewitt
SVP & Director of Decision Sciences at Burke

2015 Recipient

Pat Billups
Research Project Manager at Lone Star Market Research

2014 Recipient

Colleen Doyle
Manager of Consumer Insights at P.F. Chang’s China Bistro

2013 Recipient

Chris Hauck
Founder of Lynx Research Consulting

2012 Recipient

Jerry Thomas
President/CEO of Decision Analyst

2011 Recipient

Alan Traverse
Manager of Marketing Research Dex Media